Safe driving is a necessity for everybody on the road. Due to the precarious nature of operating a vehicle and the myriad of ways this responsibility can be compromised, the judicial system and mainstream media alike work night and day to increase awareness in everyday drivers. The most common issue facing Americans even today are drunk driving cases, causing property damage, injury and death every day of the year. If you are looking for DUI laws in the state of Ohio, keep reading below to learn about this states’ individual relationship with drunk driving and what you should do if you or someone you know has been convicted of a drunk driving charge.
How Common Are DUIs?
Drunk driving is one of the most frequent contributors to car accidents in the United States. Studies have shown thousands of people driving drunk every day, with many having done so more than once. There are over one million people living in Ohio today — studies have shown one in every seven licensed drivers in the state having driven while impaired at least once. Nearly 45,000 people in Ohio have five or more OVI convictions, according to ongoing surveys conducted by the Ohio Department of Public Safety.
What Is A DUI?
Short for ‘driving under the influence’, a DUI is a criminal offense in which the individual is charged for driving while compromised by alcohol or illegal substances — these can include, but are not limited to, marijuana, cocaine and over-the-counter allergy medication. State DUI laws vary greatly and need to be kept in mind at all times. The BAC limit (blood alcohol content) is .02% if you’re under the age of 21, which can be analyzed with state-of-the-art breathalyzers and urine tests.
What Laws Are Different In Ohio?
There are a few unique factors concerning drunk driving in the state of Ohio. To start off, Ohio has an implied consent law — this means that an individual refusing to submit to a chemical test will still be subject to a fine and automatic suspension. Secondly, law enforcement more frequently uses the term OVI rather than DUI (short for ‘operating a vehicle under the influence’). Lastly, first DUI offenses in Ohio require you pay a license reinstatement fee of $450. If you are charged with a DUI, there are multiple options you can seek out in light of a conviction.
What Happens If I Am Charged With A DUI?
There are multiple charges that can occur if you are charged with driving under the influence. A conviction in Ohio can result in jail time ranging from three days to six months, depending on the situation, as well as a fine ranging from $250 to $1,000. Due to the nature of DUI laws in Ohio, you will have different consequences compared to other states in the country. In some circumstances, a plea bargain of ‘wet reckless’ can be accepted by the prosecution in this state. The first thing you should do, however, is find a DUI attorney familiar with DUI laws in Ohio.
Where Should I Start?
If you or someone you know is convicted of a DUI, it’s imperative to know DUI laws in the state of Ohio to better understand where you’ll go from here. A DUI will leave you with criminal charges that have a long-term impact on your future — everything from employment prospects to applying for loans can be affected after a conviction. If you are facing charges, your drunk driving attorney will analyze videos, talk with witnesses and observe breathalyzer tests to better help you arrive to a reasonable conclusion in the courtroom. Contact your local law firm and ask for a consultation with a DUI attorney or personal injury lawyer to better explore your options.